24 Authors Like Brandon Sanderson – Epic Fantasy & Science Fiction

Searching for authors who specialize in sprawling epic fantasy, great worldbuilding, or simply entertaining fantastical books?

Here are the 25 best authors similar to Brandon Sanderson.

Authors-Like-Brandon-Sanderson-Feat

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

Brandon Sanderson, the popular epic fantasy and science fiction author of books like Mistborn and The Way of Kings.

(From the book series A Stormlight Archive.)


Who Writes Like Brandon Sanderson?


1 Robert Jordan

The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time Check Price On Amazon

A famous author of epic fantasy and the The Wheel of Time series. After Robert died, Brandon Sanderson continued writing the series.

Recommended: The Eye of the World

A spellbinding, sprawling fantasy world with a detailed magic system, a worthy successor to Tolkien.


2 George R. R. Martin

A Game of Thrones: (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

This author needs no introduction, the writer of the famous series A Game Of Thrones inspired the award-winning tv series.

Recommended: A Game of Thrones

Violent, bloody, but brilliantly written. One of the best adult fantasy books.


3 J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings Check Price On Amazon

The grandfather of modern fantasy fiction. Brandon was inspired by Tolkien’s works like many authors across the genre.

Recommended: The Lord of the Rings

The book that started the fantasy genre.


4 Brent Weeks

The Black Prism (Lightbringer Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

Another praised author of epic fantasy, each of the books in his Lightbringer series was on the New York Times Bestseller List.

Recommended: The Black Prism

Intriguing world and magic system, full of action and adventure.


5 Brian McClellan

Sins of Empire (Gods of Blood and Powder Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

A writer of epic fantasy, known for his trilogies, The Powder Mage and Gods of Blood and Powder.

Recommended: Sins of Empire

Perfect for any fan of Mistborn or similar series.


6 Terry Pratchett

The Color of Magic: A Novel of Discworld Check Price On Amazon

Terry Pratchett’s charm, writing style, and satirical, fantastical worldbuilding have made his Discworld series treasured.

Recommended: The Color of Magic

An entertaining and thoughtful take on fantasy.


7 Ken Liu

The Grace of Kings (1) (The Dandelion Dynasty) Check Price On Amazon

Ken is a science fiction and fantasy writer. The Dandelion Dynasty, is an epic fantasy steampunk infused with Asian influences.

Recommended: The Grace of Kings

An mashup of steampunk and fantasy with engaging prose.


8 Terry Goodkind

Death's Mistress (Sister of Darkness: The Nicci Chronicles Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

Known for his bestselling fantasy series, the Sword of Truth. It sold over 25 million copies and was translated into over 20 languages.

Recommended: Death’s Mistress

Powerful prose and characters in a sprawling world.


9 Pat Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind: Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 1 Check Price On Amazon

Pat Rothfuss, the creator of the bestselling series Kingkiller Chronicle has books with detailed magic systems and worlds.

Recommended: The Name of the Wind

The storytelling in this first book of the series is in the vein of Mistborn, Lord Of The Rings, and Game Of Thrones.


10 Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora: The Gentleman Bastard Sequence, Book One (Gentleman Bastards 1) Check Price On Amazon

Scott Lynch is a writer specializing in adventurous fantasy and is married to fellow science fiction/fantasy writer, Elizabeth Bear.

Recommended: The Lies of Locke Lamora

Full of intrigue, danger, and rip-roaring fun.


11 Brian Staveley

The Emperor's Blades: Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne 1 Check Price On Amazon

Another specializes in sprawling fantasy fiction. He also writes short stories.

Recommended: The Emperor’s Blades

A rich world of magic systems, political intrigue, ancient spirits, and enough action to keep you turning the pages.


12 Garth Nix

Sabriel (THE OLD KINGDOM Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

An Australian writer of young adult fantasy fiction, his numerous series have won awards and topped bestseller lists worldwide.

Recommended: Sabriel

A stunning dark fantasy debut in an alive world.


13 Robin Hobb

Assassin's Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

This is the pen name of the writer Margaret Ogden, who writes various genres in her many book series.

Recommended Novel: Assassin’s Apprentice

The novels George R.R Martin called “Fantasy as it ought to be written,” with satisfying drama, adventure, and intrigue.


14 Daniel J. Abraham

The Dragon's Path (The Dagger and the Coin series Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

One half of the science fiction duo James S. A. Corey, writes fantasy. He’s a comic book writer, screenwriter, and television producer.

Recommend: The Dragon’s Path

Interesting worldbuilding elements, characters, twists, and magic systems. Perfect for Mistborn fans.


15 Naomi Novik

A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

A writer of speculative fiction, she’s won the Nebula award for best novel, among others.

Recommended Novel: A Deadly Education

A gripping, dangerous take on the classic magic school.


16 Frank Herbert

Dune (Dune Chronicles, Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

The writer of the famous Dune story and five sequels. Frank Herbert also wrote essays, short stories, and book reviews.

Recommended: Dune

A staple of the genre. Something a science fiction fan should read.


17 Michael J. Sullivan

The Crown Tower: The Riyria Chronicles, Book 1 Check Price On Amazon

A bestselling fantasy and science fiction writer, his books have been translated into over 14 languages.

Recommended: The Crown Tower

Excellent character dynamics, flashy swordfights, and daring heists in this highly engaging fantasy work.


18 Jim Butcher

The Dresden Files, Book One Check Price On Amazon

A writer of contemporary fantasy and steampunk, Jim Butcher has entertaining, gritty writing that’s won him fans worldwide.

Recommended: Storm Front

An intriguing mixture of urban fantasy and noir mystery with high-stakes action.


19 James S. A. Corey

Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of The Expanse Check Price On Amazon

The nom de plume of two authors, they’re the writers of the space opera thriller series called the Expanse.

Recommended: Leviathan Wakes

The first in the popular sprawling space opera series, which is now a highly rated Amazon Prime tv series.


20 John Crowley

Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr Check Price On Amazon

Not to be confused with the Irish filmmaker, this John Crowley is an American writer of fantasy, science fiction and historical novels.

Recommended: Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr

A powerful, sweeping novel, mixing fantasy, real-world history, and the human condition.


21 Jonathan Stroud

The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

A UK writer of fantasy for young adults and children, his books are spellbinding, dark, and thrilling.

Recommended: The Amulet of Samarkand

Witty, gripping, and adventurous, not just for kids.


22 Susan Cooper

Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark is Rising Sequence) Check Price On Amazon

A writer of children’s fantasy, she creates stories inspired by magic, Arthurian and British legends, and welsh folk heroes.

Recommended: Over Sea, Under Stone

Full of intrigue and adventure, this children’s book is magical.


23 Michelle Sagara

Cast In Shadow (The Chronicles of Elantra Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

A Japanese-Canadian writer who’s written fantasy for decades, her fantastical books have many nominations for prestigious awards.

Recommended Book: Cast In Shadow

An engaging protagonist, dark, stunning, and mysterious world.


24 Diane Duane

So You Want to Be a Wizard (Young Wizards Series Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

Hailing from the US but based in Ireland, Diane writes science fiction and fantasy for young readers.

Recommended: So You Want to Be a Wizard

Entertaining story with fun worldbuilding.


What Else Should I Read If I like Brandon Sanderson?

  • Marie Brennan
  • Nicholas Eames
  • Guy Gavriel Kay
  • N. K. Jemisin
  • Luke Arnold

Hope you liked this guide to the best authors similar to Brandon Sanderson. Enjoy Brandon Sanderson? Find your next great read!

Authors Like Brandon Sanderson
Leo Flynn

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.