Road Less Read Logo - Leading You Down The Path Of New Book Discovery

25 Authors Like Brandon Sanderson For Lovers Of Epic Fantasy & Science Fiction

Brandon Sanderson, the popular epic fantasy and science fiction author of books like Mistborn and The Way of Kings (from the book series A Stormlight Archive), has written many bestsellers.

If you’re searching for authors who specialize in sprawling epic fantasy, great worldbuilding, or simply entertaining fantastical books, look no further.

Here are the 25 best authors similar to Brandon Sanderson.

Writers Like Brandon Sanderson Feat Img

Table Of Contents

Who Writes Like Brandon Sanderson?

1 – Robert Jordan

The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time

A famous author of epic fantasy, best known for The Wheel of Time series. After Robert died in 2007, Brandon Sanderson continued writing the series. If you’re going to read The Wheel Of Time, start with this first book.

Recommended Book: The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time

Why You Should Read It – A spellbinding, sprawling fantasy world with a detailed magic system, a worthy successor to Tolkien.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

2 – George R. R. Martin

A Game of Thrones: (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

This author needs no introduction, the writer of the famous series A Game Of Thrones inspired the award-winning tv series. His fantasy has spectacular worldbuilding, detailed characters, and intricate stories.

Recommended Book: A Game of Thrones: (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Violent, bloody, but brilliantly written. One of the best adult fantasy books.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

3 – J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings

The grandfather of modern fantasy fiction, Brandon, was inspired by Tolkien’s works, many other authors across the genre.

Recommended Book: The Lord of the Rings

Why You Should Read It – The book that started the fantasy genre and detailed worldbuilding.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

4 – Brent Weeks

The Black Prism (Lightbringer Book 1)

Another highly praised author of epic fantasy, each of the five books in his Lightbringer series was on the top of the New York Times Bestseller List. His books are similar in scope to Mistborn.

Recommended Book: The Black Prism (Lightbringer Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Intriguing world and magic system, full of action and adventure.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

5 – Brian McClellan

Sins of Empire (Gods of Blood and Powder Book 1)

A writer of epic fantasy, known for his trilogies The Powder Mage and Gods of Blood and Powder. He also writes essays on the craft and business of being a writer.

If you’re going to read his work, start with the first book of the Gods of Blood and Powder series.

Recommended: Sins of Empire (Gods of Blood and Powder Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Perfect for any fan of Mistborn or similar series.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

6 – Terry Pratchett

The Color of Magic: A Novel of Discworld

More lighthearted in tone than many of Brandon’s books. However, Terry Pratchett’s signature charm, writing style, and satirical and fantastical worldbuilding have made his Discworld series globally treasured.

Recommended: The Color of Magic: A Novel of Discworld

Why You Should Read It – A hilarious, entertaining, and thoughtful take on the fantasy genre.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

7 – Ken Liu

The Grace of Kings (1) (The Dandelion Dynasty)

Ken is a science fiction and fantasy writer who lives in Boston. His highly acclaimed series, The Dandelion Dynasty, is a sweeping epic fantasy with steampunk elements infused with Asian influences.

Among many others, this work has won him many awards such as the Hugo and the Nebula.

Recommended: The Grace of Kings (1) (The Dandelion Dynasty)

Why You Should Read It – An interesting mashup of steampunk and fantasy, highly engaging prose.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

8 – Terry Goodkind

Death's Mistress (Sister of Darkness: The Nicci Chronicles Book 1)

Known for his bestselling fantasy series, the Sword of Truth. It has sold more than 25 million copies and been translated into over 20 languages. Sadly, he passed away last year, but his brilliant writing shall live on.

Recommended Novel: Death’s Mistress (Sister of Darkness: The Nicci Chronicles Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Powerful, compelling prose and characters, a sprawling world.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

9 – Pat Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind: Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 1

Pat Rothfuss, the creator of the bestselling series Kingkiller Chronicle, publishes books with sweeping, meticulously detailed magic systems and worlds.

Recommended Book: The Name of the Wind: Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 1

Why You Should Read It – The storytelling in this first book of the series is in the vein of Mistborn, Lord Of The Rings, and Game Of Thrones.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

10 – Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora: The Gentleman Bastard Sequence, Book One (Gentleman Bastards 1)

Scott Lynch is an SF/F writer specializing in adventurous fantasy and is married to fellow science fiction and fantasy writer, Elizabeth Bear.

Recommended Novel: The Lies of Locke Lamora: The Gentleman Bastard Sequence, Book One (Gentleman Bastards 1)

Why You Should Read It – Full of intrigue, danger, and rip-roaring fun.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

11 – Brian Staveley

The Emperor's Blades: Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne 1

Another writer who specializes in sprawling fantasy fiction, he also writes short stories.

Recommended Novel: The Emperor’s Blades: Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne 1

Why You Should Read It – A richly crafted world of magic systems, political intrigue, ancient spirits, and enough action to keep you turning the pages long into the night. Similar to The Way Of Kings.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

12 – Garth Nix

Sabriel (THE OLD KINGDOM Book 1)

An Australian writer of young adult fantasy fiction, his numerous series have won awards and topped bestseller lists worldwide.

Recommended: Sabriel (THE OLD KINGDOM Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – A stunning dark fantasy debut in an alive and breathing fantasy world.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

13 – Robin Hobb

Assassin's Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1)

This is the pen name of the writer Margaret Ogden, who writes various genres in her numerous book series.

Recommended Novel: Assassin’s Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – The novels George R.R Martin called “Fantasy as it ought to be written,” with satisfying drama, adventure, and spellbinding intrigue. Great for those who love Mistborn.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

14 – Daniel J. Abraham

The Dragon's Path (The Dagger and the Coin series Book 1)

One half of the science fiction duo James S. A. Corey, he writes fantasy and other genres. In addition to being a writer, he’s a comic book writer, a screenwriter, and a television producer.

Recommend: The Dragon’s Path (The Dagger and the Coin series Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Interesting worldbuilding elements, expertly crafted characters, twists, and magic systems. Perfect for Mistborn fans.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

15 – Naomi Novik

A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance Book 1)

A writer of speculative fiction, she’s won the Nebula award for best novel, among others.

Recommended Novel: A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – A fascinating, gripping, dangerous take on the classic magic school.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

16 – Frank Herbert

Dune (Dune Chronicles, Book 1)

The writer of the famous Dune story and the subsequent five sequels, Frank Herbert, also wrote essays, short stories, and book reviews.

Recommended: Dune (Dune Chronicles, Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – A science fiction classic, a staple of the genre, something any science fiction fan should read.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

17 – Michael J. Sullivan

The Crown Tower: The Riyria Chronicles, Book 1

A bestselling fantasy and science fiction writer, his books have been translated into over 14 languages.

Recommended Novel: The Crown Tower: The Riyria Chronicles, Book 1

Why You Should Read It – Excellent character dynamics, flashy swordfight, and daring heists in this highly engaging fantasy work. Similar to Mistborn in terms of the action and plot twists.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

18 – Jim Butcher

The Dresden Files, Book One

A writer of contemporary fantasy, and more recently, steampunk, Jim Butcher has an entertaining, gritty writing style that’s won him fans worldwide.

Recommended: Storm Front: The Dresden Files, Book One

Why You Should Read It – An intriguing, gripping mixture of urban fantasy and noir mystery with high-stakes action.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

19 – James S. A. Corey

Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of The Expanse

The nom de plume of two authors, they’re the writers of the space opera thriller series called the Expanse.

Recommended: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of The Expanse

Why You Should Read It – The first in the immensely popular sprawling space opera series, which is now a highly rated Amazon Prime tv series.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

20 – John Crowley

Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr

Not to be confused with the Irish filmmaker, this John Crowley is an American writer of fantasy, science fiction and historical fiction novels.

Recommended: Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr

Why You Should Read It – A powerful, sweeping novel, mixing fantasy, real-world history and the human condition.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

21 – Jonathan Stroud

The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 1)

A UK writer of fantasy for young adults and children, his books are spellbinding, dark and thrilling.

Recommended: The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Witting, gripping, and adventurous, not just for kids.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

22 – Susan Cooper

Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark is Rising Sequence)

A writer of children’s fantasy, she creates stories inspired by magic, Arthurian and British legends, and welsh folk heroes.

Recommended: Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark is Rising Sequence)

Why You Should Read It – Full of intrigue and adventure, this children’s book is magical.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

23 – Michelle Sagara

Cast In Shadow (The Chronicles of Elantra Book 1)

A Japanese-Canadian writer who’s been writing fantasy for several decades, her fantastical books have given her many nominations for prestigious awards.

Recommended Book: Cast In Shadow (The Chronicles of Elantra Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – An engaging protagonist, dark, stunning, and mysterious world.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

24 – Orson Scott Card

The writer of the famous science fiction story Ender’s Game, he’s written several bestselling books as well as his most popular one.

Recommended: Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet)

Why You Should Read It – A science fiction classic, complex characters and themes, very thought-provoking.

He’s a very talented author, but I was reminded by Book Riot it might not be best to support him.

Book Riot states “Scott Card is a vocal homophobe who uses his income to support those “causes,” so this one might be best borrowed from a friend or picked up second-hand.”

25 – Diane Duane

So You Want to Be a Wizard (Young Wizards Series Book 1)

Hailing from the US but based in Ireland, Diane writes science fiction and fantasy for young readers.

Recommended: So You Want to Be a Wizard (Young Wizards Series Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – Entertaining story with some great, fun worldbuilding.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

26 – Leo Flynn

Mara's Awakening (The Mara Files Book 1)

A writer of science fiction and poetry, Leo Flynn writes stories with nail-biting suspense, plenty of action and engaging characters.

Recommended: Mara’s Awakening (The Mara Files Book 1)

Why You Should Read It – An explosive space opera with a mysterious and tough antihero and enough secrets, twists and turns to keep you hooked.

Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

Your Questions Answered

What Should I Read If I like Brandon Sanderson?

Any of the recommendations in this article would be a great choice, however others like Marie Brennan, Nicholas Eames, Guy Gavriel Kay, N. K. Jemisin, and Luke Arnold.

Hope you found this guide to the best authors similar to Brandon Sanderson helpful. If you like Brandon Sanderson, you’re sure to have found your next great read in this list.

Something I forgot? Or have a question? Leave a comment at the end.

Pin Now to Save for Later

Writers Like Brandon Sanderson Pin

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.