Authors Like Brandon Sanderson – Epic Fantasy & Science Fiction

Searching for authors who specialize in sprawling epic fantasy, great worldbuilding, or simply entertaining fantastical books? Here are the 25 best authors similar to Brandon Sanderson.

Authors-Like-Brandon-Sanderson-Feat

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

Brandon Sanderson, the popular epic fantasy and science fiction author of books like Mistborn and The Way of Kings. (From the book series A Stormlight Archive.)

Who Writes Like Brandon Sanderson?

1 Robert Jordan

[amazon fields=”1250754739″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A famous author of epic fantasy and the The Wheel of Time series. After Robert died, Brandon Sanderson continued writing the series.

Recommended: The Eye of the World

A spellbinding, sprawling fantasy world with a detailed magic system, a worthy successor to Tolkien.

2 George R. R. Martin

[amazon fields=”0553103547″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”A Game of Thrones: (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

This author needs no introduction, the writer of the famous series A Game Of Thrones inspired the award-winning tv series.

Recommended: A Game of Thrones

Violent, bloody, but brilliantly written. One of the best adult fantasy books.

3 J. R. R. Tolkien

[amazon fields=”0618645616″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Lord of the Rings” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

The grandfather of modern fantasy fiction. Brandon was inspired by Tolkien’s works like many authors across the genre.

Recommended: The Lord of the Rings

The book that started the fantasy genre.

4 Brent Weeks

[amazon fields=”0316075558″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Black Prism (Lightbringer Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Another praised author of epic fantasy, each of the books in his Lightbringer series was on the New York Times Bestseller List.

Recommended: The Black Prism

Intriguing world and magic system, full of action and adventure.

5 Brian McClellan

[amazon fields=”0316407216″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Sins of Empire (Gods of Blood and Powder Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A writer of epic fantasy, known for his trilogies, The Powder Mage and Gods of Blood and Powder.

Recommended: Sins of Empire

Perfect for any fan of Mistborn or similar series.

6 Terry Pratchett

[amazon fields=”1473205328″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Color of Magic: A Novel of Discworld” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Terry Pratchett’s charm, writing style, and satirical, fantastical worldbuilding have made his Discworld series treasured.

Recommended: The Color of Magic

An entertaining and thoughtful take on fantasy.

7 Ken Liu

[amazon fields=”1481424270″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Grace of Kings (1) (The Dandelion Dynasty)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Ken is a science fiction and fantasy writer. The Dandelion Dynasty, is an epic fantasy steampunk infused with Asian influences.

Recommended: The Grace of Kings

An mashup of steampunk and fantasy with engaging prose.

8 Terry Goodkind

[amazon fields=”0765388219″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Death’s Mistress (Sister of Darkness: The Nicci Chronicles Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Known for his bestselling fantasy series, the Sword of Truth. It sold over 25 million copies and was translated into over 20 languages.

Recommended: Death’s Mistress

Powerful prose and characters in a sprawling world.

9 Pat Rothfuss

[amazon fields=”075640407X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Name of the Wind: Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 1″ image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Pat Rothfuss, the creator of the bestselling series Kingkiller Chronicle has books with detailed magic systems and worlds.

Recommended: The Name of the Wind

The storytelling in this first book of the series is in the vein of Mistborn, Lord Of The Rings, and Game Of Thrones.

10 Scott Lynch

[amazon fields=”1473216796″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Lies of Locke Lamora: The Gentleman Bastard Sequence, Book One (Gentleman Bastards 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Scott Lynch is a writer specializing in adventurous fantasy and is married to fellow science fiction/fantasy writer, Elizabeth Bear.

Recommended: The Lies of Locke Lamora

Full of intrigue, danger, and rip-roaring fun.

11 Brian Staveley

[amazon fields=”0765336405″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Emperor’s Blades: Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne 1″ image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Another specializes in sprawling fantasy fiction. He also writes short stories.

Recommended: The Emperor’s Blades

A rich world of magic systems, political intrigue, ancient spirits, and enough action to keep you turning the pages.

12 Garth Nix

[amazon fields=”B000FC13MM” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Sabriel (THE OLD KINGDOM Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

An Australian writer of young adult fantasy fiction, his numerous series have won awards and topped bestseller lists worldwide.

Recommended: Sabriel

A stunning dark fantasy debut in an alive world.

13 Robin Hobb

[amazon fields=”198481785X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Assassin’s Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

This is the pen name of the writer Margaret Ogden, who writes various genres in her many book series.

Recommended Novel: Assassin’s Apprentice

The novels George R.R Martin called “Fantasy as it ought to be written,” with satisfying drama, adventure, and intrigue.

14 Daniel J. Abraham

[amazon fields=”B0047Y16LC” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Dragon’s Path (The Dagger and the Coin series Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

One half of the science fiction duo James S. A. Corey, writes fantasy. He’s a comic book writer, screenwriter, and television producer.

Recommend: The Dragon’s Path

Interesting worldbuilding elements, characters, twists, and magic systems. Perfect for Mistborn fans.

15 Naomi Novik

[amazon fields=”0593128486″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A writer of speculative fiction, she’s won the Nebula award for best novel, among others.

Recommended Novel: A Deadly Education

A gripping, dangerous take on the classic magic school.

16 Frank Herbert

[amazon fields=”0143111582″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Dune (Dune Chronicles, Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

The writer of the famous Dune story and five sequels. Frank Herbert also wrote essays, short stories, and book reviews.

Recommended: Dune

A staple of the genre. Something a science fiction fan should read.

17 Michael J. Sullivan

[amazon fields=”031624371X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Crown Tower: The Riyria Chronicles, Book 1″ image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A bestselling fantasy and science fiction writer, his books have been translated into over 14 languages.

Recommended: The Crown Tower

Excellent character dynamics, flashy swordfights, and daring heists in this highly engaging fantasy work.

18 Jim Butcher

[amazon fields=”0451461975″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Dresden Files, Book One” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A writer of contemporary fantasy and steampunk, Jim Butcher has entertaining, gritty writing that’s won him fans worldwide.

Recommended: Storm Front

An intriguing mixture of urban fantasy and noir mystery with high-stakes action.

19 James S. A. Corey

[amazon fields=”B008QPS69I” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of The Expanse” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

The nom de plume of two authors, they’re the writers of the space opera thriller series called the Expanse.

Recommended: Leviathan Wakes

The first in the popular sprawling space opera series, which is now a highly rated Amazon Prime tv series.

20 John Crowley

[amazon fields=”1481495607″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Not to be confused with the Irish filmmaker, this John Crowley is an American writer of fantasy, science fiction and historical novels.

Recommended: Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr

A powerful, sweeping novel, mixing fantasy, real-world history, and the human condition.

21 Jonathan Stroud

[amazon fields=”0786852550″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A UK writer of fantasy for young adults and children, his books are spellbinding, dark, and thrilling.

Recommended: The Amulet of Samarkand

Witty, gripping, and adventurous, not just for kids.

22 Susan Cooper

[amazon fields=”1442495928″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Over Sea, Under Stone (The Dark is Rising Sequence)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A writer of children’s fantasy, she creates stories inspired by magic, Arthurian and British legends, and welsh folk heroes.

Recommended: Over Sea, Under Stone

Full of intrigue and adventure, this children’s book is magical.

23 Michelle Sagara

[amazon fields=”0778368823″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Cast In Shadow (The Chronicles of Elantra Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A Japanese-Canadian writer who’s written fantasy for decades, her fantastical books have many nominations for prestigious awards.

Recommended Book: Cast In Shadow

An engaging protagonist, dark, stunning, and mysterious world.

24 Diane Duane

[amazon fields=”0152047387″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”So You Want to Be a Wizard (Young Wizards Series Book 1)” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Hailing from the US but based in Ireland, Diane writes science fiction and fantasy for young readers.

Recommended: So You Want to Be a Wizard

Entertaining story with fun worldbuilding.

What Else Should I Read If I like Brandon Sanderson?

  • Marie Brennan
  • Nicholas Eames
  • Guy Gavriel Kay
  • N. K. Jemisin
  • Luke Arnold

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best authors like Brandon Sanderson helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts