Authors Like Kurt Vonnegut – Writers & Best Works To Read

Looking for authors with a similar style as Kurt Vonnegut? Read on!

Authors Like Kurt Vonnegut

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

Authors For People Who Like Kurt Vonnegut

1 Joseph Heller

[amazon fields=”0679437223″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Catch-22-Everymans – Joseph Heller” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

As a master of satire, his writing is unforgiving and timely. His novel Catch-22 captures the absurdity and tragedy of war.

The word is now part of the English lexicon.

2 Hunter S. Thompson

[amazon fields=”0684855216″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Hunter S Thompson – The Rum Diary The Long Lost Novel” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A great author with work in memoir, journalism, and fiction.

He wrote extensively on politics, drugs, sports, and people. People attribute the method of Gonzo Journalism to him.

3 Jasper Fforde

[amazon fields=”B085N48SN1″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Jasper Fforde – Constant-Rabbit” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

His books are a pastiche and parody of the genres they occupy.

There’s the main plotline combined with an alternative plotline from an author’s work within the fictional universe he created.

4 John Steinbeck

[amazon fields=”0670016918″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”John Steinbeck – Grapes-Wrath” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

He was known for his California novels examining people’s lives during the Great Depression.

Grapes of Wrath won a Pulitzer Prize for its portrayal of poverty.

5 Ray Bradbury

[amazon fields=”0007491565″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Fahrenheit-451 – Ray Bradbury” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Famous for his Science Fiction and Fantasy, and writing about the mystery and wonder of life. Fahrenheit 451 is a sci-fi classic.

6 John Updike

[amazon fields=”0449911659″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”John Updike – Rabbit, Run” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

He’s a writer, but also a poet and artist.

Rabbit follows the life of Harry “Rabbit” Angstrom from college basketball star to family man.

7 Chuck Palahniuk

[amazon fields=”0393355942″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Chuck Palahniuk – Fight-Club” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

An American writer of minimalist literature, known for writing transgressive, graphic, disturbing, and humorous books.

Fight Club became a movie starring Brad Pitt in 1999.

8 Jeffrey Eugenides

[amazon fields=”0312427735″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

His stories delve into the lives of young Americans.

Middlesex tells the story of Cal Stephanides grappling with identity, expectations, and gender in American and Greek culture.

9 Christopher Moore

[amazon fields=”0060735422″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Christopher Moore – Practical-Demonkeeping ” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

The best comic fantasy is absurd and heartwarming. Christopher Moore does this well. He’s known for Practical Demonkeeping.

10 Aldous Huxley

[amazon fields=”0062696122″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Brave-New-World – Aldous Huxley” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

He’s best known for his dystopian novel Brave New World, but he wrote poetry and countless non-fiction works.

11 Joseph Conrad

[amazon fields=”1673303056″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Joseph Conrad – Heart-Darkness” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

He was a Polish-British author who wrote novels and short stories. He was influenced by Edgar Allan Poe and Jonathan Swift.

Heart Of Darkness is his best-known novel.

12 Cormac McCarthy

[amazon fields=”0679728759″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Cormac McCarthy – Blood Meridian Evening Redness West” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

His authorship started in 1965. Set in the American West, his stories often deal with the brutal reality of life.

He’s known for books like Blood Meridian and On The Road.

13 George Orwell

[amazon fields=”1328869334″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”George Orwell – 1984″ image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A master of dystopian fiction, he created Animal Farm, a satire on the Russian revolution.

His other works included 1984 and many essays and non-fiction.

14 Philip K. Dick

[amazon fields=”0547572174″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Philip K. Dick – Scanner-Darkly” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

He’s known for his science fiction, with stories dealing with existentialism and altered states of consciousness.

A Scanner Darkly and Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep is a good introduction to his style.

15 Kazuo Ishiguro

[amazon fields=”1400078776″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Kazuo Ishiguro – Never-Let-Me” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

This British-Japanese has written seven novels, of which the most recognized is The Remains Of The Day.

His career started in 1982 with A Pale View of Hills, and he’s also known for Never Let Me Go.

FAQ

What Is Kurt Vonnegut Writing Style?

His writing is dry, using short, pithy statements. In his novels, he explores pacifism and social equality.

He’s known for his dark humor.

What Were Kurt Vonnegut’s Literary Influences?

He was inspired by an eclectic mix of sources.

He consumed works of pulp fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and action-adventure when he was younger.

He read the classics, and George Orwell was his favorite writer.

What Makes Kurt Vonnegut Such An Outstanding Satirist?

Despite the dark, bleak outlook of satire, he never looked down on humanity. Because of his research and experiences as a veteran.

What Were Kurt Vonnegut’s Last Words?

Oh, what a great artist dies today.

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best authors like Kurt Vonnegut helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts