Authors Like Kurt Vonnegut – 15 Writers & Best Works To Read

Looking for authors with a similar style as Kurt Vonnegut? Read on!

Authors Like Kurt Vonnegut

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

Authors For People Who Like Kurt Vonnegut


1 Joseph Heller

Catch-22-Everymans - Joseph Heller Check Price On Amazon

As a master of satire, his writing is unforgiving and timely. His novel Catch-22 captures the absurdity and tragedy of war.

The word is now part of the English lexicon.


2 Hunter S. Thompson

Hunter S Thompson - The Rum Diary The Long Lost Novel Check Price On Amazon

A great author with work in memoir, journalism, and fiction.

He wrote extensively on politics, drugs, sports, and people. People attribute the method of Gonzo Journalism to him.


3 Jasper Fforde

Jasper Fforde - Constant-Rabbit Check Price On Amazon

His books are a pastiche and parody of the genres they occupy.

There’s the main plotline combined with an alternative plotline from an author’s work within the fictional universe he created.


4 John Steinbeck

John Steinbeck - Grapes-Wrath Check Price On Amazon

He was known for his California novels examining people’s lives during the Great Depression.

Grapes of Wrath won a Pulitzer Prize for its portrayal of poverty.


5 Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit-451 - Ray Bradbury Check Price On Amazon

Famous for his Science Fiction and Fantasy, and writing about the mystery and wonder of life. Fahrenheit 451 is a sci-fi classic.


6 John Updike

John Updike - Rabbit, Run Check Price On Amazon

He’s a writer, but also a poet and artist.

Rabbit follows the life of Harry “Rabbit” Angstrom from college basketball star to family man.


7 Chuck Palahniuk

Chuck Palahniuk - Fight-Club Check Price On Amazon

An American writer of minimalist literature, known for writing transgressive, graphic, disturbing, and humorous books.

Fight Club became a movie starring Brad Pitt in 1999.


8 Jeffrey Eugenides

Middlesex - Jeffrey Eugenides Check Price On Amazon

His stories delve into the lives of young Americans.

Middlesex tells the story of Cal Stephanides grappling with identity, expectations, and gender in American and Greek culture.


9 Christopher Moore

Christopher Moore - Practical-Demonkeeping Check Price On Amazon

The best comic fantasy is absurd and heartwarming. Christopher Moore does this well. He’s known for Practical Demonkeeping.


10 Aldous Huxley

Brave-New-World - Aldous Huxley Check Price On Amazon

He’s best known for his dystopian novel Brave New World, but he wrote poetry and countless non-fiction works.


11 Joseph Conrad

Joseph Conrad - Heart-Darkness Check Price On Amazon

He was a Polish-British author who wrote novels and short stories. He was influenced by Edgar Allan Poe and Jonathan Swift.

Heart Of Darkness is his best-known novel.


12 Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy - Blood Meridian Evening Redness West Check Price On Amazon

His authorship started in 1965. Set in the American West, his stories often deal with the brutal reality of life.

He’s known for books like Blood Meridian and On The Road.


13 George Orwell

George Orwell - 1984 Check Price On Amazon

A master of dystopian fiction, he created Animal Farm, a satire on the Russian revolution.

His other works included 1984 and many essays and non-fiction.


14 Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick - Scanner-Darkly Check Price On Amazon

He’s known for his science fiction, with stories dealing with existentialism and altered states of consciousness.

A Scanner Darkly and Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep is a good introduction to his style.


15 Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro - Never-Let-Me Check Price On Amazon

This British-Japanese has written seven novels, of which the most recognized is The Remains Of The Day.

His career started in 1982 with A Pale View of Hills, and he’s also known for Never Let Me Go.


What Is Kurt Vonnegut Writing Style?

His writing is dry, using short, pithy statements. In his novels, he explores pacifism and social equality.

He’s known for his dark humor.

What Were Kurt Vonnegut’s Literary Influences?

He was inspired by an eclectic mix of sources.

He consumed works of pulp fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and action-adventure when he was younger.

He read the classics, and George Orwell was his favorite writer.

What Makes Kurt Vonnegut Such An Outstanding Satirist?

Despite the dark, bleak outlook of satire, he never looked down on humanity. Because of his research and experiences as a veteran.

What Were Kurt Vonnegut’s Last Words?

Oh, what a great artist dies today.


I hope this list of authors similar to Kurt Vonnegut gave you more books and short stories to read.

Authors Like Kurt Vonnetgut
Leo Flynn

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.