Authors Like Neil Gaiman – 20 Brilliant Fantasy Writers To Read

Finding books written with Neil Gaiman’s genius is hard!

However, here are authors to read if you like Neil Gaiman.

Authors Like Neil Gaiman Feat

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

Who Writes Like Neil Gaiman?

Other great fantasy stories.

1 Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett - A Master Of Short Stories Check Price On Amazon

A prolific English author of the popular Discworld series. A master of short stories. Pratchett’s books are frantic, intelligent comedies.

2 Kat Howard

Kat Howard - Unkindness-Magicians Check Price On Amazon

This author focuses on speculative fiction, and her first book was a Locus Award finalist. She has gothic themes in her world-building.

3 Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut - Slaughterhouse-Five Check Price On Amazon

A master of satire and biting prose. His books have deep themes and literary mastery, hidden within the simple language.

4 N.K Jemisin

N.K Jemisin - Broken-Earth-Trilogy-Season-Obelisk Check Price On Amazon

A brilliant fantasy and science fiction writer.

She’s the first African American author to win the Hugo Award for Best Novel three or more times.

5 Stephen King

Stephen King -  Billy-Summers Check Price On Amazon

A master of modern horror!

With Carrie, The Stand, Christine, and Under the Dome, his books have been turned into major motion pictures.

6 Theodora Goss

Theodora Goss - Strange-Alchemists-Daughter-Extraordinary-Adventures Check Price On Amazon

Goss’s books are fantastic explorations of fairy tales and mythology, with an array of beautifully crafted characters.

7 China Mieville

China Mieville - City Check Price On Amazon

His books are literary explorations through weird worlds and stranger characters. They’re a social commentary, too.

8 Alix E. Harrow

Alix E. Harrow - Once-Future-Witches Check Price On Amazon

A talented author whose debut novel and short fiction are masterpieces! Her books have complex characters.

9 Charles de Lint

Charles de Lint- The-Wind-in-His-Heart Check Price On Amazon

An author of books like Memory and Dream, he’s an excellent writer influenced by folklore and modern fantasy books.

His books are quirky and wonderful.

10 Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Silvia Moreno-Garcia - Certain-Dark-Things Check Price On Amazon

The author of books like Certain Dark Things and Gods Of Jade And Shadow, she’s an excellent writer.

She uses fantasy to examine dsocial structures.

11 Diana Wynne Jones

#11 - Diana Wynne Jones - Howls-Moving-Castle Check Price On Amazon

The author of Dogsbody, Howl’s Moving Castle, and The Chronicles Of Chrestomanci. She was a master of magical books for children.

12 Kelly Barnhill

Kelly Barnhill- Girl-Drank Check Price On Amazon

An author of books like The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Witch’s Boy, her books are excellent explorations of human life.

13 Joanne M. Harris

Joanne M. Harris - Chocolat Check Price On Amazon

The author of books like Chocolat and Gentlemen & Players. She’s a versatile writer known for quirky prose with magic and loving life.

Her stories are suspenseful, with depth.

14 Tracey Baptiste

cey Baptiste - Jumbies Check Price On Amazon

This writer is known for books like The Jumbies, about Caribbean folklore through a child’s eyes to bring out its beauty.

15 Douglas Adams

Douglas Adams - Ultimate-Hitchhikers-Guide-Galaxy Check Price On Amazon

One of the most influential authors in comic scifi, with books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy under his belt.

16 Joan Aiken

Joan Aiken - Whispering-Mountain Check Price On Amazon

This author is known for books like The Whispering Mountain, for which she won the prestigious Guardian Prize for Fiction.

17 David Wong

David Wong - John-Dies-End Check Price On Amazon

David Wong is the author of books like John Dies At The End. His books are perfect if you want scares.

18 Charlie Jane Anders

All-Birds-Charlie-Jane-Anders Check Price On Amazon

The author of books like All The Birds In The Sky has exciting sci-fi and fantasy elements. Her books have excellent characterization.

19 Phillip Pullman

His-Dark-Materials-Compass-Spyglass - Phillip Pullman Check Price On Amazon

The author of books like The Golden Compass (The Northern Lights) is an essential read for kids.

His books are classics of modern literature, known for their masterful, descriptive prose.

20 Madeline Miller

Madeline Miller - CIRCE Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon

She wrote Circe, a reimagining of the classic tale of Odysseus.

Her books are targeted at adults but filled with classic mythology.

What Makes Neil Gaiman’s Writing Different From Other Authors?

His books are often inspired by world mythology and folklore, altering the standard tropes to create something unique.

He writes books like American Gods, which explore fantastical elements in modern society.

He’s a prolific short story writer and has written graphic novels, comic books like the Sandman series.

If you like Neil Gaiman, these books will give you the same feeling.

Pin Now to Save for Later

Authors Like Neil Gaiman
Leo Flynn Author Photo

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.