Authors Like Neil Gaiman – Brilliant Fantasy Writers To Read

Finding books written with Neil Gaiman’s genius is hard! However, here are authors to read if you like Neil Gaiman.

Authors Like Neil Gaiman Feat

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

Who Writes Like Neil Gaiman?


1 Terry Pratchett

[amazon fields=”1473205328″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Terry Pratchett – A Master Of Short Stories” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1473205328″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

A prolific English author of the popular Discworld series. A master of short stories. Pratchett’s books are frantic, intelligent comedies.


2 Kat Howard

[amazon fields=”1481451197″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Kat Howard – Unkindness-Magicians” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1481451197″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

This author focuses on speculative fiction, and her first book was a Locus Award finalist. She has gothic themes in her world-building.


3 Kurt Vonnegut

[amazon fields=”0385312083″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Kurt Vonnegut – Slaughterhouse-Five ” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0385312083″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

A master of satire and biting prose. His books have deep themes and literary mastery, hidden within the simple language.


4 N.K Jemisin

[amazon fields=”031652719X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”N.K Jemisin – Broken-Earth-Trilogy-Season-Obelisk” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”031652719X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

A brilliant fantasy and science fiction writer.

She’s the first African American author to win the Hugo Award for Best Novel three or more times.


5 Stephen King

[amazon fields=”1982173610″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Stephen King – Billy-Summers” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1982173610″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

A master of modern horror!

With Carrie, The Stand, Christine, and Under the Dome, his books have been turned into major motion pictures.


6 Theodora Goss

[amazon fields=”148146650X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Theodora Goss – Strange-Alchemists-Daughter-Extraordinary-Adventures” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”148146650X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

Goss’s books are fantastic explorations of fairy tales and mythology, with an array of beautifully crafted characters.


7 China Mieville

[amazon fields=”0345497511″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”China Mieville – City” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0345497511″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

His books are literary explorations through weird worlds and stranger characters. They’re a social commentary, too.


8 Alix E. Harrow

[amazon fields=”0316422045″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Alix E. Harrow – Once-Future-Witches” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0316422045″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

A talented author whose debut novel and short fiction are masterpieces! Her books have complex characters.


9 Charles de Lint

[amazon fields=”178636316X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Charles de Lint- The-Wind-in-His-Heart” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”178636316X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

An author of books like Memory and Dream, he’s an excellent writer influenced by folklore and modern fantasy books.

His books are quirky and wonderful.


10 Silvia Moreno-Garcia

[amazon fields=”1529415608″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Certain-Dark-Things ” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1529415608″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

The author of books like Certain Dark Things and Gods Of Jade And Shadow, she’s an excellent writer.

She uses fantasy to examine social structures.


11 Diana Wynne Jones

[amazon fields=”0061478784″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”#11 – Diana Wynne Jones – Howls-Moving-Castle” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0061478784″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

The author of Dogsbody, Howl’s Moving Castle, and The Chronicles Of Chrestomanci. She was a master of magical books for children.


12 Kelly Barnhill

[amazon fields=”1616205679″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Kelly Barnhill- Girl-Drank” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1616205679″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

An author of books like The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Witch’s Boy, her books are excellent explorations of human life.


13 Joanne M. Harris

[amazon fields=”B000OCXI3K” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Joanne M. Harris – Chocolat” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”B000OCXI3K” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

The author of books like Chocolat and Gentlemen & Players. She’s a versatile writer known for quirky prose with magic and loving life.

Her stories are suspenseful, with depth.


14 Tracey Baptiste

[amazon fields=”1616204141″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”cey Baptiste – Jumbies” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1616204141″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

This writer is known for books like The Jumbies, about Caribbean folklore through a child’s eyes to bring out its beauty.


15 Douglas Adams

[amazon fields=”0307291812″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Douglas Adams – Ultimate-Hitchhikers-Guide-Galaxy” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0307291812″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

One of the most influential authors in comic scifi, with books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy under his belt.


16 Joan Aiken

[amazon fields=”0385065973″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Joan Aiken – Whispering-Mountain” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0385065973″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

This author is known for books like The Whispering Mountain, for which she won the prestigious Guardian Prize for Fiction.


17 David Wong

[amazon fields=”031255513X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”David Wong – John-Dies-End ” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”031255513X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

David Wong is the author of books like John Dies At The End. His books are perfect if you want scares.


18 Charlie Jane Anders

[amazon fields=”0765379945″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”All-Birds-Charlie-Jane-Anders” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0765379945″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

The author of books like All The Birds In The Sky has exciting sci-fi and fantasy elements. Her books have excellent characterization.


19 Phillip Pullman

[amazon fields=”0307957837″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”His-Dark-Materials-Compass-Spyglass – Phillip Pullman” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0307957837″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

The author of books like The Golden Compass (The Northern Lights) is an essential read for kids.

His books are classics of modern literature, known for their masterful, descriptive prose.


20 Madeline Miller

[amazon fields=”0316556343″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”Madeline Miller – CIRCE” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0316556343″ value=”button” button_text=”Click to Learn More / Buy from Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikeneilgaiman-20″]

She wrote Circe, a reimagining of the classic tale of Odysseus.

Her books are targeted at adults but filled with classic mythology.


What Makes Neil Gaiman’s Writing Different From Other Authors?

His books are often inspired by world mythology and folklore, altering the standard tropes to create something unique.

He writes books like American Gods, which explore fantastical elements in modern society.

He’s a prolific short story writer and has written graphic novels, comic books like the Sandman series.

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best authors like Neil Gaiman helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts