Authors Like Terry Pratchett: 15 Writers Like The Fantasy Master

Terry Pratchett, the late master of comic fantasy, is sadly no longer with us. But his legacy lives on. Here are writers to read if you like Terry Pratchett.

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

1 Esther Friesner

Esther Friesner Nobody's Princess

She writes fantasy stories blended with historical fiction about women from ages past. In amongst humor, she weaves social satire and social commentary.

Esther Friesner is also known for her short stories, for which she’s won a Hugo and Nebula award.

Check Price on Amazon

#2 – Robert Rankin

Snuff-Fiction-Robert-Rankin

Robert Rankin is a master of slapstick and surreal comedy, with a touch of horror. His books are full of laugh-out-loud moments and outrageous characters.

Check Price on Amazon

#3 – Andy Weir

Martian-Novel-Andy-Weir

Andy Weir’s The Martian is a science-based thriller. It follows an astronaut stranded on Mars. It was turned into a popular film starring Matt Damon.

Check Price on Amazon

#4 – Tom Holt (K. J. Parker)

Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City (The Siege Book 1)

Tom Holt writes historical novels under his name and writes fantasy under the pen name K.J. Parker. Also, he writes mythopoeic parody novels of tremendous scope and heart.

Check Price on Amazon

#5 – Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman-Ocean-End-Lane-Illustrated

Neil Gaiman is a writer of fantasy, science fiction, and all things strange and wondrous. His literary career spans graphic novels, comics, screenplays, and short stories.

Check Price on Amazon

#6 – Frances Hardinge

Lie-Tree-Frances-Hardinge

Frances Hardinge writes dark and twisty fantasy novels for children and young adults. A great book of hers is The Lie Tree. A story about a girl finding answers to questions about her dead father from a mysterious tree.

Check Price on Amazon

#7 – Ursula K. Le Guin

Left-Hand-Darkness-Penguin-Galaxy-Ursula K Le Guin

Ursula K. Le Guin was a prolific American author. She wrote science fiction and fantasy to literary fiction and children’s books.

She’s best known for The Left Hand of Darkness and the Earthsea stories.

Check Price on Amazon

#8 – Jasper Fforde

Eyre-Affair-Thursday-Next-Novel-Jasper Fforde

Jasper Fforde writes literary novels in the fantasy genre. Including the Thursday Next series and Nursery Crimes. He’s known for his wordplay and use of literary allusions.

Check Price on Amazon

#9 – Christopher Moore

Christopher Moore - Fool

Christopher Moore is known for his hilarious writing, including A Dirty Job and Lamb. He’s also made a name for himself with his horror novels. Also, he’s a master of absurdist fiction.

Check Price on Amazon

#10 – Ben Aaronovitch

Rivers-London-Anniversary-Special-novel-Ben Aaronovitch

He is the author of the Rivers of London series. A humorous look at police procedurals. It blends elements of urban fantasy and hard-boiled detective novels. He’s written graphic novels, short stories, and screenplays.

Check Price on Amazon

#11 – Eoin Colfer

Artemis-Fowl-Eoin-Colfer-

Eoin Colfer is best known for the top-selling Artemis Fowl series. These books blend science fiction and fantasy with a modern setting. They have a genius, misunderstood anti-hero protagonist.

It’s brilliant, funny, and suspenseful all at once.

Check Price on Amazon

#12 – Walter Moers

Lives-Captain-Bluebear-Walter-Moers-

Walter Moers is a German author and cartoonist. He’s known for his unpredictable and imaginative style. His books cross genres like fantasy, adventure, comedy-drama, mystery, thriller, and satire.

Check Price on Amazon

#13 – Tansy Rayner Roberts

Tea-Sympathetic-Magic-Teacup-Tansy Rayner Roberts

She’s an Australian fantasy writer and writes crime fiction under a penname. Her books are for children and adults, often with the surreal or fantastical element in them. Her work has been published in several magazines.

Check Price on Amazon

#14 – Robert Sheckley

Pilgrimage-Earth-Robert-Sheckley

Robert Sheckley was an American science fiction author. He was known for his satirical approach to writing. He was prolific, penning hundreds of short stories, novels, tv-episodes, media tie-ins, and more.

Check Price on Amazon

#15 – Michael Logan

Apocalypse-Cow-Michael-Logan

Michael Logan is a Scottish author. He’s known for his hilarious, dark futuristic novels and short fiction. His work has won two prizes. He previously worked as an international correspondent.

Check Price on Amazon

16 – Mervyn Peake

Titus-Groan-Mervyn-Peake

Mervyn Peake was a British writer and artist known for his gothic fantasy novels. He also wrote poetry, short stories, plays, and painted illustrations for his books. His most famous work is Gormenghast Trilogy.

Check Price on Amazon

17 – A. Lee Martinez

Nameless-Witch-Lee-Martinez

He is an American fantasy and science fiction author known for his comedic writing style. His stories are full of unexpected twists, and he often uses dark humor in ironic ways.

Check Price on Amazon

18 – Charles Stross

Atrocity-Archives-Charles-Stross

An award-winning British science fiction author. He’s known for his modern, funny writing style and hard science fiction and space opera blend. His tales are packed with lots of details, fantastic concepts, and witty commentary.

Check Price on Amazon

19 – Robert Asprin

Robert-Asprins-Myth-Adventures

He was best known as the creator of the MythAdventures series. But he’s written many other books. His work often parodies genres like fantasy and science fiction. In the same vein as Sir Pratchett.

He has a very accessible writing style.

Check Price on Amazon

20 – Spider Robinson

Time-Travelers-Strictly-Spider-Robinson

An American writer and musician, he’s written books solo and with his wife, Jeanne Robinson. His sci fi often features a touch of humor with its storytelling, as well as appealing characters.

Check Price on Amazon

Looking for more options if you love Pratchett? Try The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

Q&A

Which Authors Have Been Influential To Terry Pratchett?

Terry Pratchett has cited P.G Wodehouse, Lloyd Alexander, G.K. Chesterson, and Jack Vance, among his many influences. Also, the Punch Magazine.

What Else Do Readers Of Terry Pratchett Read?

Douglas Adams, Kurt Vonnegut, and many others.

What Inspired Terry Pratchett To Write Discworld?

When Sir Terry Pratchett invented the Discworld series, he wanted to break away from the limitations of traditional fantasy writing.

He used parody in his works and did something unique. He created a flat world that rides on four elephants standing on a giant turtle.

What Is Terry Pratchett’s Best Book?

According to many readers, the best book by Terry Pratchett is Thief of Time from the Discworld books. As a result, it was shortlisted for the Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel.

Which Authors Have Been Influenced By Terry Pratchett?

Many authors admit Terry Pratchett has influenced them. Neil Gaiman (writer of American Gods) is one example.

Hope you love these 15 authors like Terry Pratchett. Each has a unique style. But they have the same humor and creativity that made Terry Pratchett influential.

Pin Now to Save for Later

Authors Like Terry Pratchett
Leo Flynn Author Photo

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.