Books Like Divergent – Science Fiction Dystopian Novels

Looking for dystopian books like Divergent by Veronica Roth? Here are recommendations for YA dystopian fiction. If you’re looking for some good reads to take your breath away with their suspenseful thrills, these books will be right up your alley.

Feat-Img-For-Books-Like-Divergent-With-A-Ink-Drawing-Of-A-Dystopian-City

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

What Books Are Similar To Divergent?

Here’s a list of books to read like the hunger games and divergent.

[amazon link=”B005LC1ZHE” title=”1 Partials by Dan Wells” /]

[amazon fields=”B005LC1ZHE” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Partials” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Humanity is on the brink of extinction. After a pandemic wiped out half of the human population, North America is home to survivors on Long Island.

Sixteen-year-old Kira doesn’t want them to perish.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B005GSZZKG” title=”2 Matched By Ally Condie” /]

[amazon fields=”B005GSZZKG” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B00MSRW7IQ” title=”3 Seeker By Arwen Elys Dayton” /]

[amazon fields=”B00MSRW7IQ” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Seeker” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

On the night of Quin Kincaid’s Oath, she’ll become what she’s trained for. A Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.

As a Seeker, Quin fights to protect those in need. Once she takes her Oath, everything changes. It’s too late to turn back.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B07NDRK3Z3″ title=”4 A Gift Upon The Shore By M.K. Wren” /]

[amazon fields=”B07NDRK3Z3″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”A Gift Upon The Shore” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

To protect knowledge for future generations, writer Mary Hope and painter Rachel Morrow preserve books.

They find a man from the Ark. The Arkites only read the Judeo-Christian Bible and anything else is blasphemous.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B00QPIO73M” title=”5 An Inheritance Of Ashes By Leah Bobet” /]

[amazon fields=”B00QPIO73M” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”An Inheritance of Ashes” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

The war is over, and Hallie and her sister wait to see who will return from battle while struggling maintain their family farm.

When they hire a veteran to help them, the conflict soon comes home in ways no one could’ve imagined.

While the danger escalates, ugly secrets are revealed, which could change everything for the worse, forever.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B07448GCH7″ title=”6 Ethos By Aaron Dworkin” /]

[amazon fields=”B07448GCH7″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Ethos” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

David finds himself trapped in a world 500 years in the future. There’s a war brewing between The Immortals & The Bereft.

Will David fight on the side of the Immortals, who gain immortality after discovering their life purpose?

Or will he join the Bereft, a group that dies naturally? Join David in his battle for the meaning of life and the future of humanity.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

[amazon link=”B002MQYOFW” title=”7 The Hunger Games By Suzanne Collins” /]

[amazon fields=”B002MQYOFW” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”The Hunger Games” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

In Panem, there’s a shining Capitol with twelve districts. To keep the districts in line, the Capitol forces them to supply two tributes, one girl and one boy, for the yearly Hunger Games.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen is sent into the Hunger Games instead of her sister. She’s determined to survive.

The Hunger Games Trilogy, a New York Times bestseller, is often compared to the divergent series.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

8 Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Tally soon turns sixteen, and she can’t wait. She’ll have surgery, turned into a pretty, the envy of most with their stunning beauty.

When she arrives in her idyllic new community, she’ll be catapulted into the pretty world where her only duty is to have fun.

Shay runs away. When Tally is offered a choice by the authorities, she can find her friend or never turn pretty.

9 Skeen’s Leap by Jo Clayton

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

As a master thief, Skeen has earned a reputation. One day, she’s penniless and stranded on a backwater planet.

A rumor about a fortune hidden among ancient ruins leads this woman to trouble. Trapped, Skeen must uncover dark secrets.

10 The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

In London, ghosts appear, and no one is sure why. Only kids have the abilities necessary to stop the supernatural menace.

Lucy Carlyle joins forces with Anthony Lockwood. With their sarcastic colleague, George, they’re investigate a haunted house.

11 The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Cia can’t stop thinking about The Testing. It’s a program for selecting the best graduates and turning them into leaders.

Cia is chosen to participate in The Testing. Her father tells her his frightening memories of the experience.

With that ringing in her ears, she heads away from everything she’s ever known into a dangerous, cutthroat world.

A very popular dystopian trilogy for young adults.

12 The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cassia has always trusted the Society’s authority to make all her decisions for her. She awaits the reveal of her Match.

Now she has an impossible choice between the only life she’s known and a path no one dared to walk.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings that wander the countryside killing anyone they see.

Being alone was safest. Until she met Evan Walker. He might be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother— or saving herself.

13 Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Cyra Noavek and Akos Kereseth grew up in neighboring countries fighting for dominance. Akos is forced to serve Cyra, the dictator’s sister.

Cyra’s touch transfers pain to those who disagree with her brother. Yet, Cyra is determined to fight for her survival along with Akos.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

14 Tiny Pretty Things by Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Three of the best students at a Manhattan ballet school are Bette, Gigi, and June. Gigi is new to dance but it might kill her.

Bette finds a thrill in taking risks. Perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year, or her controlling mother will call quits.

There are no limits to what the girls will do to be the best.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

15 Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

In exile from her enclosed city, Aria despairs over possibly dying in the wilderness. Aria meets an Outsider named Perry.

He is her only hope for survival in the hostile environment. Perry’s job is to hunt for his people. He needs Aria’s help.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

16 Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

Oil is scarce, but loyalty is scarcer. Tankers are dismantled by impoverished children for parts. Nailer scavenges for copper wires.

He discovered a beautiful ship beached during a recent hurricane.

Nailer has to decide whether he should strip it or save the wealthy lone survivor. She could lead him to a better life.

This sweeping, powerful science fiction book is one of the best dystopian novels ever written.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

17 Delirium by Lauren Oliver

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

A government forces everyone who reaches eighteen to be cured of feeling love, a dangerous disease.

Lena Haloway is eager to be cured. She witnessed the disastrous effects of love when her mother was destroyed by it.

Lena meets Alex, an enigmatic young man from the Wilds. What will happen if they slowly fall in love?

A book great for fans of the hunger games and divergent.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

18 The Selection by Kiera Cass

[amazon fields=”0525423648″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”Matched – Ally Condie” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

For 35 girls, the Selection is an opportunity to live in a palace. They must compete to win the heart of Crown Prince Maxon.

America Singer is in love with Aspen. When she’s Selected, everything she wanted goes away.

When America meets Prince Maxon, she can’t help wondering what it’s like living as a princess. What choice will she make?

A great choice for books like divergent.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best books like divergent helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts