Books Like Mistborn By Brandon Sanderson – Epic Fantasy Novels

Brandon Sanderson, a staple in the epic fantasy genre. Here are 15 of the best fantasy books like Mistborn.

Feat Img For Books Like Mistborn With A Ink Drawing Of A Wasteland

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

1 The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

[amazon fields=”1250754739″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Eye of the World (Book 1 of The Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1250754739″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Since 1990, the first book in the modern fantasy classic book series The Wheel Of Time has captivated millions.

A richly detailed world of danger and scale akin to J. R. R. Tolkien.  


2 The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

[amazon fields=”0765326353″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0765326353″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Looking for something similar to Mistborn?

This is the first book in his epic fantasy, The Stormlight Archive, a New York Times No. 1 bestseller.


3 The Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan

[amazon fields=”0732270952″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”The Magician’s Guild (Book 1 of the Black Magician Trilogy) by Trudi Canavan” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0732270952″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

This is the first book in the trilogy The Black Magician. Set in a stunning world of volatile magic and betrayal.

Epic in scale, fantastic worldbuilding, a compelling magic system, and a clear, vivid writing style.


4 Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan

[amazon fields=”035650106X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”035650106X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Michael J Sullivan is a popular author of fantasy books, known for his series The Riyria Chronicles.

An unlikely partnership of a noble warrior and an assassin carry a plot of political intrigue, swordfighting, and danger.


5 – Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

[amazon fields=”198481785X” value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”198481785X” value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Robin Hobb is a writer called Margaret Ogden. Under this name, she writes rip-roaring action-filled epic fantasies.

A fascinating take on the story of power behind the throne and conspiracies threatening to trigger a kingdom collapse.


6 The Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

[amazon fields=”0356502007″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0356502007″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

This book is a fascinating start to the book series, the Powder Mage trilogy, combining magic, history, and fantasy.

Set in an age of chaos and anarchy after a kingdom has been overthrown, this story is dark, chilling, and compelling.


7 – The Black Prism

[amazon fields=”0316075558″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0316075558″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

The first book in the New York Times bestselling series is full of danger, compelling characters, and high stakes action.

This author has earned his place among fantasy greats like J. R. R. Tolkien and George R. R. Martin (writer of A Song Of Ice And Fire.)


8 Storm Front by Jim Butcher

[amazon fields=”0451461975″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0451461975″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

The first book in the bestselling series The Dresden Files is about a private investigator from Chicago who also happens to be a wizard.

A stellar urban fantasy mixed with noir mystery, romance, and action in this high stakes romp of a book.


9 The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

[amazon fields=”1473223075″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1473223075″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

A gripping, adventurous story about a thief, assassin, and wearer of many other hats is the first in a bestselling series.

With a poetic, lyrical writing style, this portrays one young man’s trials of becoming the person behind the legend.


10 Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

[amazon fields=”0312857055″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0312857055″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

This is Terry Goodkind’s debut novel, first published in 1994. Sadly, he passed away, but his epic fantasy series is a bestseller.

The characters are raw and messy and the stakes are high. Need I say more? The first in a series of fantasy novels.


11 The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

[amazon fields=”0575079797″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0575079797″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Darkly funny and cynical, this book tells of the darker side of humanity and its fast-paced, thrilling plot.

Filled with intriguing characters like

  • Logen Ninefingers
  • Captain Jezal dan Luthar
  • Inquisitor Glokta

It’s impossible to resist reading their dark adventures


12 The Deed of Paksenarrion by Elizabeth Moon

[amazon fields=”1841498548″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1841498548″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

One girl’s tale of sacrifice, danger, and adventure on the epic scale.

This contains three books.

  • Sheepfarmer’s Daughter
  • Divided Allegiance
  • Oath of Gold

13 Magician by Raymond E. Feist

[amazon fields=”0007491530″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0007491530″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

The first book in The Riftwar Saga is an epic fantasy of magic, adventure, and a war that threatens to destroy everything.

the worldbuilding and prose make it a staple in fantasy fiction.


14 Graceling by Kristin Cashore

[amazon fields=”1473223733″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”1473223733″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

Katsa is assassin of the King of the Middlums, her uncle, Randa.

She works to stop the seven kingdoms from abusing their power. Darkness is spreading, and her father could be the first victim.

A riveting ride through a world with danger, magic, and romance.


15 Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings

[amazon fields=”0552168335″ value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_align=”center” image_alt=”” image_link=”none” image_class=”aawp-custom-image nopin” /]

[amazon fields=”0552168335″ value=”button” button_text=”Check Price On Amazon” tracking_id=”rlrlikemistborn-20″]

A classic epic fantasy written in the ’80s, this story is engaging and full of plot-twists and fascinating characters.

A young boy, is called to take up a quest the world depends on.

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best books like Mistborn helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts