Books Like Mistborn By Brandon Sanderson – 15 Epic Fantasy Novels

Brandon Sanderson, a staple in the epic fantasy genre.

Here are 15 of the best fantasy books like Mistborn.

Books Like Mistborn Feat

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

https://youtube.com/shorts/X7rArRII0xw?feature=share

1 The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

The Eye of the World (Book 1 of The Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan Check Price On Amazon

Since 1990, the first book in the modern fantasy classic book series The Wheel Of Time has captivated millions.

A richly detailed world of danger and scale akin to J. R. R. Tolkien.  


2 The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson Check Price On Amazon

Looking for something similar to Mistborn?

This is the first book in his epic fantasy, The Stormlight Archive, a New York Times No. 1 bestseller.


3 The Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan

The Magician’s Guild (Book 1 of the Black Magician Trilogy) by Trudi Canavan Check Price On Amazon

This is the first book in the trilogy The Black Magician. Set in a stunning world of volatile magic and betrayal.

Epic in scale, fantastic worldbuilding, a compelling magic system, and a clear, vivid writing style.


4 Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan

Theft of Swords Check Price On Amazon

Michael J Sullivan is a popular author of fantasy books, known for his series The Riyria Chronicles.

An unlikely partnership of a noble warrior and an assassin carry a plot of political intrigue, swordfighting, and danger.


5 – Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

Assassin's Apprentice (The Illustrated Edition): The Farseer Trilogy Book 1 Check Price On Amazon

Robin Hobb is a writer called Margaret Ogden. Under this name, she writes rip-roaring action-filled epic fantasies.

A fascinating take on the story of power behind the throne and conspiracies threatening to trigger a kingdom collapse.


6 The Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

Promise Of Blood Check Price On Amazon

This book is a fascinating start to the book series, the Powder Mage trilogy, combining magic, history, and fantasy.

Set in an age of chaos and anarchy after a kingdom has been overthrown, this story is dark, chilling, and compelling.


7 – The Black Prism

The Black Prism (Lightbringer, 1) Check Price On Amazon

The first book in the New York Times bestselling series is full of danger, compelling characters, and high stakes action.

This author has earned his place among fantasy greats like J. R. R. Tolkien and George R. R. Martin (writer of A Song Of Ice And Fire.)


8 Storm Front by Jim Butcher

Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1) Check Price On Amazon

The first book in the bestselling series The Dresden Files is about a private investigator from Chicago who also happens to be a wizard.

A stellar urban fantasy mixed with noir mystery, romance, and action in this high stakes romp of a book.


9 The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Name Of The Wind Check Price On Amazon

A gripping, adventurous story about a thief, assassin, and wearer of many other hats is the first in a bestselling series.

With a poetic, lyrical writing style, this portrays one young man’s trials of becoming the person behind the legend.


10 Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, Book 1) (Sword of Truth, 1) Check Price On Amazon

This is Terry Goodkind’s debut novel, first published in 1994. Sadly, he passed away, but his epic fantasy series is a bestseller.

The characters are raw and messy and the stakes are high. Need I say more? The first in a series of fantasy novels.


11 The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

The Blade Itself (Gollancz) Check Price On Amazon

Darkly funny and cynical, this book tells of the darker side of humanity and its fast-paced, thrilling plot.

Filled with intriguing characters like

  • Logen Ninefingers
  • Captain Jezal dan Luthar
  • Inquisitor Glokta

It’s impossible to resist reading their dark adventures


12 The Deed of Paksenarrion by Elizabeth Moon

The Deed Of Paksenarrion: The Deed of Paksenarrion omnibus (DEED OF PAKSENARRION SERIES) Check Price On Amazon

One girl’s tale of sacrifice, danger, and adventure on the epic scale.

This contains three books.

  • Sheepfarmer’s Daughter
  • Divided Allegiance
  • Oath of Gold

13 Magician by Raymond E. Feist

Magician Check Price On Amazon

The first book in The Riftwar Saga is an epic fantasy of magic, adventure, and a war that threatens to destroy everything.

the worldbuilding and prose make it a staple in fantasy fiction.


14 Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graceling Check Price On Amazon

Katsa is assassin of the King of the Middlums, her uncle, Randa.

She works to stop the seven kingdoms from abusing their power. Darkness is spreading, and her father could be the first victim.

A riveting ride through a world with danger, magic, and romance.


15 Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings

Pawn Of Prophecy Check Price On Amazon

A classic epic fantasy written in the ’80s, this story is engaging and full of plot-twists and fascinating characters.

A young boy, is called to take up a quest the world depends on.


I hope this helped you find the best books similar to Mistborn and many excellent reads to add to your TBR.

Books Like Mistborn
Leo Flynn

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.