Books Like Ready Player One – Top 18 Books You Need to Read

Want more books like Ready Player One?

I’ve compiled science fiction books like Ready Player One.

Books-Like-Ready-Player-One-Feat

If you click a link on this page and make a purchase, I may receive a commission, but at no extra cost to you. Learn More.

Read the book recommendations below. Or, watch this short summary on YouTube. Enjoy!

1 Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

Snow Crash - Neal Stephenson Check Price On Amazon

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

2 Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? By Philip K Dick

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? - Philip K Dick Check Price On Amazon

It’s set in a dystopian future Los Angeles and features Rick Deckard – an ex-cop who tracks down rogue robots.

This book was the inspiration for the film Blade Runner.

3 Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia - Scott Reintgen Check Price On Amazon

Why the Babel Corporation recruited Emmett is anyone’s guess.

When he arrive on Eden, he must compete to mine Nyxia, an invaluable substance deep within the world.

Will he succumb to its temptations?

4 The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

The Impossible Fortress - Jason Rekulak Check Price On Amazon

May 1987. Billy Marvin is a happy nerd. Afternoons are spent with his buddies watching television.

Playboy publishes photos with their idol Vanna White.

They decide to sneak a copy, but everything goes haywire, and Billy meets expert computer programmer Mary Zelinsky.

A sweet, retro coming-of-age full of pop culture references.

5 Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

Otherworld - Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller Check Price On Amazon

The Otherworld is a virtual world video game where there are no rules. Simon has discovered the consequences…

A heart-pounding thrill ride with resounding themes.

6 Warcross by Marie Lu

Warcross - Marie Lu Check Price On Amazon

Warcross is an escape from the reality. There are many people out there eager to cash in on this lucrative opportunity.

Emika Chen tracks down people illegally betting on the game

After hacking into the International Championships, Emika gets a call from the game’s creator. He needs a spy for the tournament.

One of the best science fiction books like ready player one.

7 Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae - Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff Check Price On Amazon

Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the worst thing ever. It’s nothing compared to her planet being invaded.

The AI has gone haywire, there’s a deadly plague, and no one knows what’s going on. Can Kady find out?

Told through a series of hacked documents, this unique story is filled with action, intrigue, and suspense.

8 Artemis by Andy Weir

Artemis - Andy Weir Check Price On Amazon

Jasmine Bashara lives on Artemis, a lunar colony where the rich work and play. She needs money to pay off a debt.

When a heist comes along, it’s what she needs. Things escalate, and she finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy.

A high-octane heist thriller set in outer space.

9 My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

My Best Friend's Exorcism - Grady Hendrix Check Price On Amazon

1988 was unlucky for Abby and Gretchen. The girls are best friends until one fateful night.

Gretchen is moody while bizarre incidents happen. As their story progresses, can their friendship overcome evil?

10 Genius the Game by Leopoldo Gout

Genius the Game - Leopoldo Gout Check Price On Amazon

In this action-packed young adult novel, three brilliant teens use their knowledge of hacking in a fierce competition to win.

11 one Con Glory by Sarah Kuhn

One Con Glory - Sarah Kuhn Check Price On Amazon

Julie has always been a passionate fangirl.

She’s never wanted anything more than the Glory Gilmore action figure. She finally has the chance to get it one fateful weekend.

As any great adventure goes – nothing is simple for Julie…

12 Only You Can Save Mankind by Terry Pratchett

Only You Can Save Mankind - Terry Pratchett Check Price On Amazon

Johnny Maxwell is about to set the new high score on his favorite game. The aliens don’t die, they surrender instead!

Filled with mystery, suspense, and Pratchett’s trademark humor.

13 Moxyland by Lauren Beukes

Moxyland - Lauren Beukes Check Price On Amazon

Four people struggle to survive in a dark and twisted world.

An art-school dropout, an ambitious baby, a hotheaded activist, and a sneaky blogger. They’re on a collision course.

14 Crypt Quest/Space Battles by Gabe Soria

Crypt Quest/Space Battles - Gabe Soria Check Price On Amazon

Creep into an old arcade. Once you start playing one of the games, your decisions determine whether you beat it!

A thrilling choose-your-own 80s-inspired gaming adventure, as much fun as Ready Player One.

15 Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter - Blake Crouch Check Price On Amazon

Jason has awoken in an unfamiliar world.

Here, he’s a celebrated genius who achieved something impossible, unlike when Jason was just your average college physics professor.

This new reality is more of a nightmare.

16 Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

Insignia - S.J. Kincaid Check Price On Amazon

The Earth’s natural resources have almost been exhausted, and conflict has broken out to control the assets of our solar system.

Tom Raines may be humanity’s only hope. The 14-year-old’s expertise in virtual-reality gaming makes him an asset.

Despite the new opportunities such as friends and potential romance, there’s a price to pay.

17 Feed by M.T. Anderson

Feed - M.T. Anderson Check Price On Amazon

For Titus and his friends, it started out like any ordinary trip to the moon — a chance to escape during spring break.

An evil hacker caused feeds to malfunction. He meets Violet who wants to destroy the feeds.

18 The Automatic Detective by A. Lee Martinez

The Automatic Detective - A. Lee Martinez Check Price On Amazon

Mack Megaton is a robot. Instead of destroying humanity like his programming intended, he wants to prove he’s trustworthy.

When Mack’s neighbors are kidnapped, he sets off on a journey. What starts as a missing family becomes a battle to save his city.

I hope you found my list of books like Ready Player One helpful.

Pin Now to Save for Later

Books Like Ready Player One
Leo Flynn Author Photo

About Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links for more.

Leo Flynn writes space opera like The Mara Files. Other galaxies consume his waking hours. Visit leoflynn.com/links.