Books Like Ready Player One – Top Scifi Books You Need to Read

Want more books like Ready Player One? You get them! I’ve compiled science fiction books like Ready Player One.

Feat-Img-For-Books-Like-Ready-Player-One-With-A-Ink-Drawing-Of-A-Cyberpunk-City

This post contains affiliate links. Learn More.

TLDR – Watch the video summary below of the best books like ready player or, or scroll through the list to see which novel intrigues you. From there, you can find it in print, eBook or audio format, or add it to your TBR on Goodreads.

1 Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

2 Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? By Philip K Dick

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

It’s set in a dystopian future Los Angeles and features Rick Deckard – an ex-cop who tracks down rogue robots.

This book was the inspiration for the film Blade Runner.

3 Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Why the Babel Corporation recruited Emmett is anyone’s guess.

When he arrive on Eden, he must compete to mine Nyxia, an invaluable substance deep within the world.

Will he succumb to its temptations?

4 The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

May 1987. Billy Marvin is a happy nerd. Afternoons are spent with his buddies watching television.

Playboy publishes photos with their idol Vanna White.

They decide to sneak a copy, but everything goes haywire, and Billy meets expert computer programmer Mary Zelinsky.

A sweet, retro coming-of-age full of pop culture references.

5 Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

The Otherworld is a virtual world video game where there are no rules. Simon has discovered the consequences…

A heart-pounding thrill ride with resounding themes.

6 Warcross by Marie Lu

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Warcross is an escape from the reality. There are many people out there eager to cash in on this lucrative opportunity.

Emika Chen tracks down people illegally betting on the game

After hacking into the International Championships, Emika gets a call from the game’s creator. He needs a spy for the tournament.

One of the best science fiction books like ready player one.

7 Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the worst thing ever. It’s nothing compared to her planet being invaded.

The AI has gone haywire, there’s a deadly plague, and no one knows what’s going on. Can Kady find out?

Told through a series of hacked documents, this unique story is filled with action, intrigue, and suspense.

8 Artemis by Andy Weir

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Jasmine Bashara lives on Artemis, a lunar colony where the rich work and play. She needs money to pay off a debt.

When a heist comes along, it’s what she needs. Things escalate, and she finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy.

A high-octane heist thriller set in outer space.

9 My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

1988 was unlucky for Abby and Gretchen. The girls are best friends until one fateful night.

Gretchen is moody while bizarre incidents happen. As their story progresses, can their friendship overcome evil?

10 Genius the Game by Leopoldo Gout

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

In this action-packed young adult novel, three brilliant teens use their knowledge of hacking in a fierce competition to win.

11 one Con Glory by Sarah Kuhn

Hiro Protagonist. By day, he’s a pizza deliverer. By night, he’s a warrior prince in a virtual reality called the Metaverse.

A computer virus is striking down hackers everywhere. He’ll have to chase after a virtual villain to avoid the infocalypse.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Julie has always been a passionate fangirl.

She’s never wanted anything more than the Glory Gilmore action figure. She finally has the chance to get it one fateful weekend.

As any great adventure goes – nothing is simple for Julie…

12 Only You Can Save Mankind by Terry Pratchett

Johnny Maxwell is about to set the new high score on his favorite game. The aliens don’t die, they surrender instead!

Filled with mystery, suspense, and Pratchett’s trademark humor.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

13 Moxyland by Lauren Beukes

Four people struggle to survive in a dark and twisted world. An art-school dropout, an ambitious baby, a hotheaded activist, and a sneaky blogger. They’re on a collision course.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

14 Crypt Quest/Space Battles by Gabe Soria

Creep into an old arcade. Once you start playing one of the games, your decisions determine whether you beat it!

A thrilling choose-your-own 80s-inspired gaming adventure, as much fun as Ready Player One.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

15 Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Jason has awoken in an unfamiliar world. Here, he’s a celebrated genius who achieved something impossible, unlike when Jason was just your average college physics professor.

This new reality is more of a nightmare.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

16 Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

The Earth’s natural resources have almost been exhausted, and conflict has broken out to control the assets of our solar system.

Tom Raines may be humanity’s only hope. The 14-year-old’s expertise in virtual-reality gaming makes him an asset. Despite the new opportunities such as friends and potential romance, there’s a price to pay.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

17 Feed by M.T. Anderson

For Titus and his friends, it started out like any ordinary trip to the moon — a chance to escape during spring break.

An evil hacker caused feeds to malfunction. He meets Violet who wants to destroy the feeds.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

18 The Automatic Detective by A. Lee Martinez

Mack Megaton is a robot. Instead of destroying humanity like his programming intended, he wants to prove he’s trustworthy.

When Mack’s neighbors are kidnapped, he sets off on a journey. What starts as a missing family becomes a battle to save his city.

Why You Should Read It –

Content Warnings –

Add To Goodreads

Conclusion

Hope you found this list of the best books like ready player one helpful. Happy reading!

Have suggestions for this article, or want to tell us what you’re enjoying? Great! We’d love to hear from you. It’s quick and easy, just use this form.

Want more book recommendations? Visit our archives for science fiction, fantasy, and young adult, or sign up to our newsletter so you can get the best reads straight to your inbox!

Want more bookish content? Connect with us on Pinterest, TikTok, and YouTube.

Interested in supporting us? Thank you so much for helping us keep the lights on. Join our Patreon for exclusive content, tip us on Ko-Fi, or see this page for free ways to keep us creating the best content we can for you.

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts

About The Author

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn

Leo Flynn writes queer YA hopepunk for the lost. Other galaxies and reading everything consumes his waking hours. He’s Australian, but bounces all over the place. Why? Why not?

View All His Posts